Whimsical ramblings to pass the time, Thunderbird problems, and emails


It’s been a busy day (even though as I write this, it is now Friday, so technically a new is already in the process of beginning).
Sometimes though, the previous one just seems to drag on indefintely.
I’m sitting here even now, flipping between windows, to see if an email (I’ll add it in later) will go through my Gmail account or not.
I’ve already tried more than several times already since early yesterday morning, with always the same results in the end.
The email will reach a point where it’s at 77% delivered, and then an error message will pop telling me the setting of my POP3 are incorrect.
They seem to be working fine for everything else I’ve sent. It’s just this one email.
Maybe it’s due to the content, which although is politically correct, isn’t exactly pleasant either.
I have even, while peering through the Help section in Gmail, downloaded the Gmail POP3 Troubleshooter.
It’s supposed to check any and all connections and settings, and fix them.
Too bad that it’s "Not Responding" right at this moment. A common occurence these days. Guess I’ll shut it down and try using the program again, with the hopes of better success.
Drew, my roomie, already is aware that we will be reformatting my hard drive when I get back to Toronto.
This will be the second time round since he moved in.
I think I’ll go with the Windows XP Media version this time round, just to see what that offers.
Chances are, it’ll be the same amount of frustruation and heartbreak XP Home and Pro have already given me.
<sigh>
I have to get this email sent to, as it’s Tenant Rep related, and frankly, I’m at my wits end with the scenario it describes, and am trying to enlist any and all help I can muster.
Earlier this afternoon, now yesterday, my parents and I drove down to the funeral home for the viewing of Coleen’s mom, Ellen Rowan, nee Murray.
Mom only decided to mention that Ms. Rowan had already been cremated, so what was the point of going? Waste of money to me. What could the funeral home provide that the wake afterwards couldn’t?
Ok… it’s 00h23 and I’ve just sent another quick email through the same server with no problem, even though the Gmail Troubleshooter, after running it for the 3rd time advised me there was a problem with my DNS.
I seem to recall Drew telling me that the DNS Service had nothing to do with dial-up connections, but I’m no techno-genius, and for now will accept the programs prognosis.
There, I’ve restarted the DNS service in my Administrative Tools. My cry for help is still moving along it’s merry way. We’re at 46% now.
Anyhow, mom and I will be heading downtown for the funeral ceremony. It seems the right and respectful thing to do, as we both care for Coleen in our own ways.
I’m going to be exhausted, but I don’t want to wake up in the morning (06h15 should anyone care) only to find out that the damn email didn’t go through again.
Mom tells me to stop fretting. That "I can wait until next week when I get back to my apartment and my high speed", but right now logic isn’t something I want to hear.
ok, that and there’s going to be a C.H.U.25 Council meeting on the 15th, and I really want to see the shit hit the fan when a copy of this email reaches Toronto City Hall and several different Media outlets as well as Toronto Community Housing and my C.H.U. staff.
So this email HAS to be out well before hand, so that perhaps by the time the date of the meeting arrives, all of this will be resolved.
I hate being a prick about this (again, I will refer to the copy of the email for you viewers to refer to), but I have really been left with no choice, and I don’t like the recent attitudes I have been getting from those very TCHC staff members of C.H.U.25, that are supposed to be there to help us (Besides, some people will comment that it isn’t really a far stretch for me whem it comes to being a prick.).
Everyone’s entitled to their opinion. Just don’t expect me to let theirs get in my way of doing what I think is necessary.
00h40 and we have now reached 62%. Gmail Troubleshooter crashed again, so fuck it. Yet another dumb product that really doesn’t do anything more than report back to it’s corporate masters.
Only reason I can think of for it’s creation, is that I’m not the only one having this problem since Mozilla Thunderbird Version 1.5 came out, and Version 2.0 is in Beta testing (hate that version already too)
00h43 and that fucking error message I mentioned earlier has popped up. This time we didn’t even get to 70%.
I might have to email this straight from a web site instead.
Leave a Reply

