On the road yet again, the search, granny’s, memories of famous times past


11h02: (Saturday)

The estimate came in just a little while ago, over the Brother fax-560 in the den at Mom and Dad’s house, from Meldrum the Movers. We were astonished to learn that the cost of just moving Noreen’s three drawer mahogony dresser, and her television cabiner was going to be around $450, not including the monthly storage costs.

Sadly, we, and more apropriately I mean Mom, have decided that really, it’s just not worth it.

Mom has no intentions of moving Noreen off the eighth floor, where she is currently residing, into a larger apartment should once become abailable eventually. There are too many reasons for her to stay up there, including the beautiful rotunda, which Noreen absolutely adores, and would never go up and visit again if she were moved to a different floor. Plus, once Noreen grows accustomed to her new room, and it doesn’t seem to be taking all that long, it would just be needless stress, for both Noreen and Mom, who is the primary care taker, to deal with.

So the furniture will be left behind at Residence Place Moritz, either to be used by the next occupant of Noreen’s former apartment, or perhaps to one of the staff if the management of Place Moritz allow such things.

Either way, it will not be ours, and again, when I say ours I mean Mom’s, problem.

11h40:

Coleen is heading out the door shortly. She’s heading out to her daughter Michelle and boyfriend Kirk’s apartment in Rigaud, and then together, they will all drove over to the house they’re buying to meet up with the building inspector, so that he can give it a once over, to ensure that they’re getting the best deal. They will all walk the house together, and the inspector will make them aware of any flaws or faults that will need dealing with, and could alter therefore the buying price

12h15:

Mom and I are heading out shortly as well, it seems.

Mom wants to stop by Reno Depot, to look for storage shelves to install in Noreen’s one and only closet, to make better use of its space. Afterwards, it’s off to Place Moritz, to go through some of the packed up boxes remaining there, to cull what’s inside them so as to make whatever arrives once everything is moved early next week that much simpler.

19h28:

Took a bit longer than I thought, but we got the apartment all packed up and done. Meldrum the Movers will be coming on Tuesday morning, sometime around 8h30. We dropped by Wal-Mart, Canadian Tire and Home Depot instead of Reno, all in the quest to find this clothes bar that hooks over the existing one, dropping 3 feet and adding another bar which to hang clothes off. No such luck though in finding it.

Suggested that Mom use the idea she had worked with last year, when she was trying to install some stuff to hang clothes from in the laundry room. Because there were no studs in the walls of the laundry room where she needed them to be, she eventually installed some cable eyelets in the ceiling ones instead. Theh, with the usage some thin steel cable, she threaded the cable through the clothes bar and hung it from between. Essentially, it’s a free standing.

09h32 (Sunday)

We went out for dinner last night. This time it was Mom’s treat. It was late for Dad to be calling for a reservation at Mon Village, but we got one for 20h00. My parents have been going there for several years now, and are well known by all the staff. You could see that the restaurant was going to be very busy as we pulled in to the parking lot. Cars everywhere. Up to this point, I had not even even aware that there was a second lot ot be used, in case of overflow.

Mon Village attracts clientelle from all over. It has an excellent reputation, and despite there also being a liquor bar, and there not being many in the area, most of the people are there because of the food.

I enjoy crowds occasionally. Despite getting overwhelmed by them when I am outdoors, sometimes to the point of panic, if I am inside, sitting comfortably, I find them to be quite the placebo for television. Here, playing out in front of you, are all your multi-cultural channels come to life at once, playing a wide range of genres. Enough to satisfy any sort of voyeur.
It can also be quite wearing too, mentally and emotionally. If I had not been tired before going in, I was definitely so by the time we got out. Managed to stay awake and sit with Mom long enough to watch the episode of "Holmes on Homes" we had recorded on the Mom’s Bell ExpressVu PVR from earlier this week on HGTV Canada, then crawled into bed.

16h59

Forgot that it was Darcy Malley’s birthday today.

Ok, that’s not entirely true. I had deleted the original reminder I had received from BirthdayAlarm on purpose and then, when I received my email today, decided that it wouldn’t kill me to send him an eCard through Yahoo

My parents and I have been out most of the day, visiting grandparents one again. I don’t think I have one day since I got to QC that I have not been on the road doing something for one of them. But I knew that when I got here. I owe so much, thanks to my parents kindness, that really, to balk would seem so disrespectful.

So today we started off with Nana over at the Montreal Association for the Blind, in Montreal West.

We had a nice lunch there and left sometime around 14h00 to head back to the West Island, where we dropped Mom off at le Vivalis so she could check in with Noreen, who wasn’t feeling very well today, while Dad and I headed over to Zellers at the Centre Terrarium Pointe-Claire to see if we could find that darn hanging bar I mention above somewhere.

I worked at this Zellers, many years ago. This mall is going through an evolution too right now. Gone now is the Famous Players 8 Cinemas, having been closed down when Famous Players merged with Cineplex Odeon last year some time. Torn down now to make room for a Home Depot. Rockquest, a bar my friends and I used to go to on the odd occasion is gone, replaced by Penningtons. CIBC has closed it’s branch, which had been there since the stripmall had been built and K-Mart was the flagship store.

In fact, the only thing that’s still exactly where it was when I last left it is the Tim Horton’s.

Leave a Reply

