black eyes, bank accounts, bread, TTC cuts, scare tactics, words of wisdom


13h49
July 19th, 2007
20°C
Cloudy
Wind: E at 14 km/h
Humidity: 94%
 
"The young man knows the rules, but the old man knows the exceptions."

I’m still chafing over the black eye I managed to give myself, when I unthinkingly flipped my desk chair over to take a look at the looe arm, forgetting that there are 5 legs I need to watch out for. Ouchie!!!!
Ok, now that is my chest, I am now heading downstairs to the front park in, oh…. about 15 minutes give or take. Pamela and I are meeting up after she’s done getting some information from Curtis.
Something to do with the old bank account that had been set up by a previous Tenant administration here at the building. That TA had folded, whether due to a lack of interest or committment, or the untimely death of its treasurer, is unknown to me.
I’m certain however that someone will fill me in on the sordid details, should I enquire.
With the new fledgling Tenant Association now commencing it’s second month, comes a new bank account, fresh with funds from the Canada Day BBQ.
As co-chair, it appears that I, in my absence, was selected to be a signatory on the new account, which I’m assuming is to be opened at TD Canada Trust at the corner of Avenue and Davenport close by.
 
15h48

Well, apparently you can’t walk into a bank these days and simply open an account. You need to make an appointment. so We’ll be going back again tomorrow morning at 10h30
Instead, Pamela and I spent more than an hour passing out free fresh bread in our lobby to the residents.
This is all part of the Food Share program Curtis is trying to develop for September.

 

19h06
 
So, tomorrow the TTC may decided to mothball the Sheppard subway. Thanks to $550+ million shortfall, brought about by the provincial government’s refusal to take back the responsibility for the social services it has been legally mandated to provide.
Only 44,000 people aproximately take the new line daily, and until the City can get it’s house in order, and Torontonians finally tell the province and country that we have had enough of this bullshit, it’s looking like Toronto could wind up being Canada’s Detroit.
 
19h53
 
Topsy turvy weather today. Makes life so much more interesting.
17h36
7/21/2007
20°C
Cloudy
Wind: SW at 8 km/h
Humidity: 68%
 
"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams."
 
Since I last looked at this, there has been a repeal to the statement regard the TTC’s Sheppard subway line closure. That isn’t going to happen at this time, nor the 22 other bus lines that were on the chopping block.
A number of people are now calling these scare tactics, being used to try to get the province to provide a cash bail out again. This includes Greg Sorbarra, the Ontario Liberals finance minister.
Pooh! considering that the majority of the budget shortfall is because of the province, that’s just totally unfair.
 
Someone either wrote this themselves (unlikely) or copied and pasted this onto their Facebook profile. Some of the stuff is funny, but horribly accurate too. I’ve reprinted it here so I can refer to it from time to time.
 
  • I’ve learned that you cannot make someone love you. All you can do is stalk them and hope they panic and give in.
  • I’ve learned that no matter how much you try, some people are just assholes.
  • I’ve learned that you can get by on charm for the first 15 minutes. After that you better have a large willy or big boobs.
  • I’ve learned that you shouldn’t try to compare yourself to others. They are more screwed up than you think.
  • I’ve learned that you can keep vomiting long after you think you’ve finished.
  • I’ve learned that we are responsible for what we do, unless we are celebrities.
  • I’ve learned that regardless of how hot and steamy a relationship is at first, the passion fades and there had better be lots of money to take its place.
  • I’ve learned that the people you care about most in life are taken from you too soon and the less important ones just never seem to go away. 

Leave a Reply

