Weather or not to be me


Flooding damaged powerlines along a road near HuntingdonHighway 138 was closed on Tuesday because of flooding.Flooding of the Chateauguay River
January 8th, 2008
   
"Don’t knock the weather. If it didn’t change once in a while, nine out of ten people couldn’t start a conversation."
        Kin Hubbard
        (1868 – 1930)
 
Nature can be a fickle and tempermental bitch.
 
We’ve gone from one extreme here in QC, setting a new record for monthly snowfal in December, and now we’re sitting at almost 50 degrees fahrenheit, with fog as thick as pea soup blanketing the entire St. Lawrence Valley from all the moisture gathering in the air from the rapid melt.
 
One of the areas that is of interest to me is the Town of Huntingdon, where I spent a number of good years with a friend I had made during my time in Scouting, Jeremy Roy, and his family, along with Scott Thompson and Charles Murdoch. I wake up often wondering how they are. It’s been so long.
 
Local and provincial agencies have been called in, to break the ice as it rises, and hopefully prevent it from taking it out several bridges that are currently in danger of being swept away.
 
 
One school bus, on it’s way to school with full load of elementary level students, was unable to to follow the road under the water, and drifted into a ditch. All the students were rescued, after city workers arrived and using the buckets on their utility vehicles, were able to get all the children, and the driver, to safety. Chances were it offered them one of the more interesting excuses to be used for being late to class.
 
Sunday, January 13th 2008
 
So now begins the final week here. We should be heading back down the 401 on the upcoming Friday for the Dot.
 
I’ve bought myself new clothes, a new 20 inch LG wide screen LCD monitor for my computer, games for my Nintendo Wii, a gift from my parents at Christmas.
 
I’ll be resuming my After-care at the Brentcliffe, starting Monday the 21st. All in all, I’ve done well for myself. Now I have to make certain that I show that I’ve earned it. 
 
3 thoughts on “Weather or not to be me

  1. Yay!!!!! Now all I have to do buy you the wifi connector as a birthday present and we (assuming we have the same game) can play together. Another one joins the wii nation 😉

  2. Yes. Soon all shall be assimilated. I thought I would have no problems connecting my Wii to my Sympatico DSL, but haven\’t had the chance to do so yet.
    I\’ll check ASAP when I get back to the Dot.

  3. Yes. Soon all shall be assimilated. I thought I would have no problems connecting my Wii to my Sympatico DSL, but haven\’t had the chance to do so yet.
    I\’ll check ASAP when I get back to the Dot.

Leave a Reply

