The Royal Secret


The Royal SecretThe Royal Secret by John Bentley
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Way too much information being thrown at you in the first several chapters, much of it having nothing to do with the alleged story. By the time I was getting round to the 100th page I had had more than enough.

Don’t get me started on the ridiculous name for the lead character, who comes off a pathetic wooden mannequin who only really existed for her now beloved deceased mentor, and sadly never had any genuine aspirations of her own. Absolutely couldn’t stand her she was so flat. The 2 kids are equally 2 dimensional and frankly, by the eighth chapter and the 20th plus time being reminded that the dear wee souls parents had been killed in a car accident with their grandmother, I was of the opinion that it was a bloody shame that they hadn’t been in the same vehicle.

I appreciate the author put a lot of research into this novel, but how that research is ultimately presented is what makes a good book.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “The Royal Secret

  1. I have also read this book and found the historical detail of extreme interest. The research may be delivered by a rather uneventful character in Mrs. G…BUT, for me the book has really questioned my opinion of who Shakespeare really was and that, along with the very interesting supportive material found on the books Pinterest and Pearltrees sites has provided a very worthwhile read. Obviously we all have our own opinions and I respect everybody for this, but personally I read this book beyond the character of Mr. G, valuing it on it’s historical research – often a book (as often with a TV documentary) presenting these type of facts doesn’t often have a worthy story teller (or presenter) and the book needs reading with such a manor. I felt this book is very appropriate to the audience who (like myself) are extremely interested in this, very important, literacy conspiracy and I’m looking forward to reading more on this subject as we enter the 400th anniversary of the death of Shakespeare!

    • You’re the second person to say this to me, and I’m beginning to think I might have been a bit quick to lump this novel along with some of the other fiction-historical books I’ve read over the years. Perhaps I should go take a second, more open-minded look at what the book is really trying to say instead of solely it’s narrative characters.

      That being said, this doesn’t change my personal opinion of the author John Bentley, who I still feel is an arrogant, defensive and condescending jerk who will go out of his way to bludgeon anyone who dares give his novel a lower score than he’s decided it deserves. Goodreads.com apparently agrees with my complaint regarding this, and has already taken steps to deal directly with Bentley in this matter as well as blocking the author from again lashing out at me and other users contacted via private and public posts.

Leave a Reply

